“Serial” an Engaging Insight on the Unraveling of a Murder Mystery

When I first listened to Episode one of the Podcast “Serial” I was imserial-2mediately drawn in by the mysterious music and intriguing concept. I think that by turning a murder investigation into a podcast , it was an effective way to keep listeners engaged and feel interactive with the information being told. I feel as if the podcast made me feel transported into the interviews and explained situations.

By including prison phone recordings with the accused murderer (Adnan) I felt that it gave me a better sense of understanding the characters feserial_news-crop-promovar-mediumlargeeling and how he felt about the situation. By including other recorder interviews and old evidence from the case , I felt that this showed the narrators efforts to ensure the listener felt connected to the case by being able to hear different peoples side of the story and what their reaction to the whole situation.

When the narrator bring up the challenge of remember little details on days which occurred in the past. I could relate to her argument that it is very difficult to remember little details of your day especially if nothing significant occurred. I have had times where I do not even remember what I wore the day before or what I even had to eat for breakfast. It made me feel that by using this argument she does raise a good point that it was unfair for the investigators to question Adnan about what he did for specifically 20 minutes of a day that occurred several weeks in the past.

i-forgetWhat really intrigued me and got me thinking is how the podcast makes it seem as if Adnan could be either guilty as claimed or innocent and wrongly accused of murder. Especially after listening to his explanation that he had nothing to do with the murder. While Jay ( a close friend of Adnans) claims that he watched Adnan kill Hae. It also made me wonder how Jay was able to recall all the details of the day perfectly when Adnan claims he does not remember much at all. It also made me question if Jay remembered all the details of this day because of the dramatic situation which he claims occurred on that day .

I enjoyed listening to a invest1200px-serial_podcastigation in the manner of a podcast and thought it was a really interesting and engaging insight on the unraveling of a murder mystery. I feel that by listening to a podcast rather then reading a text , I was able to create a connection to the characters in the story. I felt that I could understand what emotions and messages were being portrayed by the characters and the narrator. At some points I did find it hard to listen to all the information without missing some things , but overall I enjoyed listening to “Serial” and will most likely begin listening to other podcasts.

Zoe.C

You can listen to the first episode of the podcast yourself linked below:

https://serialpodcast.org/season-one/1/the-alibi

 

 

 

Leave a comment